My Top 5 Beauty Finds of 2011

27 Dec

Every year I go through trial and error journey’s with various beauty products. And pretty much by the end of the year I’ve concluded what the best and worst products have been. I feel like every woman has her list of beauty must-haves. These are the products you wouldn’t dare leave the house without! And if they’re running low they’re immediately restored. Yesss, you ladies know what I’m talking about.  Well here’s a small compilation of products I’ve tried this year and loved or products I’ve “hung tight” with from previous years that still made the cut!

5. Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Soothing Lip Balm:

Beauty Rush Soothing Lip Balm (Victoria's Secret, $7.00)

This lip balm is just A-mazing. It’s thick enough to have a lasting effect and the tinted color stands out to give your lips that extra wow factor. What I like about this balm is that it’s like having a lip balm and lip gloss all in one. It’s formula also contains Aloe Vera and Peppermint to moisturize and cure your lips of dryness.  My favorite here is the lighter peach shade called “Pretty Buff.” This balm has lasted me so far for two years, and for $7 bucks a pop it certainly hasn’t hurt my pockets either. That’s a steal ladies!

4. Anastasia Brow Wiz Skinny Brow Pencil: 

I’m a serious believer in the magic of a perfectly groomed brow. Now most of the time I just leave my brows alone and with the exception of a little maintenance here and there, they look fine. However  there have been times where I get this great idea that I can “fix” them just as well as my go-to brow woman, and um no, huge fail almost every time. With that being said there are times I have to fill in the areas where I’ve over plucked. I discovered this Anastasia brow pencil in brunette and I’m NEVER going back to the old days of CoverGirl brow pencils (sorry CG). This brush does wonders. Meaning it doesn’t give you that “penciled on” look, it does exactly what a brow addition should do: leave your face looking natural and your brows groomed. It’s a bit more expensive than your typical drugstore brand selling at $20, but it’s well worth it. You can find the Anastasia Brow Wiz and her other products at Sephora.

Anastasia Brow Wiz in Brunette (photo via beautyrushx3.blogspot.com) (Sephora, $20)

3. Virgin Coconut Oil:

This one is a staple for me and I’ve blogged about it before. I can’t suggest it enough! I actually started using it last year when it was suggested to me by my hair stylist. This was also something my mother used to use to moisturize my brother and my scalp when we were young. Virgin Coconut Oil can be used for cooking, eating and for moisturizing the scalp and skin. Much like Olive Oil. I love this because it’s not something you need to necessarily apply everyday and it works. Not only does it moisturize the scalp and hair roots but it also promotes hair growth when massaged into the scalp.  It serves as a natural conditioner and provides essential proteins to helping rebuild damaged hair.  It’s inexpensive and can be found in almost any grocery store for less than $10 depending on the brand.

2. Forever 21’s Love&Beauty Nail Polish:

I’ve also blogged about this product before. I love, love, love, these polishes! Because they come in a large variety of colors, they’re inexpensive and they DON’T CHIP EASILY. Forever 21 is known for their ever-changing clothing and shoes, but they also have great accessories (not staple accessories but if you need something for a night out) and also great nail polish. I wouldn’t recommend their glitter polishes as they take  3-5 coats to put on and forever to get off, but their solid colors are a great find. These go for $2.80 each at Forever 21 in store and online.

Love & Beauty Polish from Forever 21 (Forever 21, $2.90 each)

Dunh, Dunh, Dunh! My numero UNO, Favorite-Lovely-Obsessed With Beauty Product of 2011 is….

Benefit’s “They’re Real!” Mascara

Ok. So. I cannot, CANNOT explain enough how much I love this mascara. Anyone who knows me personally knows I have a mascara addiction. I’m always looking to try out the new brands to see whether they live up to their promises, and because well I love-making my eyes pop. But I digress. This mascara promises to give you length, curl and volume and ladies: it delivers. This is not a fiber mascara (which I hate) so it doesn’t give you that “spider-eye” look and the brush is designed to comb out and curl every lash. It def-in-it-e-ly works! Definitely. I recommend this to everyone who hasn’t yet found that perfect mascara. It gives your lashes lots of volume after just one swipe (so imagine what a few more coats could do :) ) It’s currently selling for $22 at Sephora in store and online.

I love this mascara so much I have 3 more tubes stashed away in my drawer. Yessss, I’m addicted-I told you.

"They're Real!" Mascara by Benefit (Sephora, $22)

2011 was a great year for many various reasons, but for all the other beauty obsessed girls out there this certainly was a GREAT year of new products. No bring on 2012 baby!

Leave a Reply

